The one about not giving a shit what others think about you. 

This is something I’ve been an expert at for years. I know that’s a bit arrogant to say, but I don’t care. Not one bit. 
I’ve been blessed with good self esteem for as long as I can remember and I’m sure it comes from gold standard parenting by my mum (as well as something internal). She used to make a point of never telling me I was naughty/silly/bad or whatever only that what I had done was naughty/silly/bad or whatever. Which resulted in me not thinking I was a bad person. It’s something I proudly do with my own children. 

However what I think it taught me to do is actually step out of self esteem all together. I’m a person. Not a good one or a bad one. Just a person who does good (and occasionally!) not so good things. But it doesn’t affect who I am. I’m still me, neither good nor bad. 

I know every day I do the best I can with what i have. I make mistakes, I’m human, we all do. But I don’t care what people think about it. And I don’t care if people do or don’t like me because of it. As I know I always have a clear conscience with whatever I do. I always do what I think is right at the time. If someone has a problem with that, it’s usually more a reflection of them than of me. I take criticism well, and would be happy for someone to tell me I’ve done something that’s upset them rather than bitch about me behind my back. 

If that’s what they choose to do however. that’s fine with me, they obviously aren’t worth having in my life anyway. 

I don’t need people to like me, I like myself enough. I don’t need people to love me, I love myself enough.  

Although I do thrive on friendships and contact with people, I don’t need them to survive. I am me, I like me, and I don’t care what you think about that. 

So like me, hate me, love me or loathe me. It won’t worry me. The people in my life are there for a reason even if it’s to teach me a lesson. And those who stick around for a while obviously think I’m alright, so why should I worry about the other ones?? Because I don’t!

  
As Dr Seuss famously said once, be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind. 

Leave a Reply

